Yuma County Conservation District Updated:08/2020

Provides legal organization to assist the effort to accomplish maximum economical and beneficial use and conservation of all land, water, and plant resources by providing technical assistance, facilities, and equipment as is available. Their goal is to create as many good stewards of natural resources as possible without the use of mandates and regulations.

Formation of soil conservation districts in Yuma County began in 1949. On May 9 of that year the Hale Soil Conservation District was formed. The district covered approximately 727,000 acres in southern Yuma County. The Northeast Yuma Soil Conservation District was formed on January 6, 1950 and contained approximately 320,000 acres in northeast Yuma County. The Yuma Soil Conservation District was formed in 1958 covering the northwest portion of the county.

Hale SCD and Northeast Yuma SCD consolidated in 1970 forming Yuma County Soil Conservation District with an area of 1,044,087 acres of land and 2,367 acres of surface water. Land uses include native rangelend, irrigated cropland, nonirrigated cropland, nonirrigated pastureland, urban lands, recreation and wildlife. The landownership consists of private, state and federal.

In 2002 the name was changed state wide to drop the word soil. The District is a member of the Republican River Watershed Association, the Colorado Association of Conservation Districts and the National Association of Conservation Districts.

Contact Yuma County Conservation District

REMINDER: This listing is a free service of ColoradoLandCAN.
Yuma County Conservation District is not employed by or affiliated with the Colorado Land Conservation Assistance Network, and the Network does not certify or guarantee their services. The reader must perform their own due diligence and use their own judgment in the selection of any professional.


Contact Yuma County Conservation District

247 N Clay Street
Suite 1
Wray, CO  80758
Phone: (970) 332-3173

Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Yuma County, Colorado