Division of Water Resources Division 5 Updated:05/2023

Colorado River Basin (Glenwood Springs)

Water Division 5 is the mainstem of the Colorado River; major tributaries include the Fraser, Blue, Eagle, and Roaring Fork Rivers.   All of Colorado’s major Transmountain Diversion Projects originate in Division 5, including the Grand River Ditch, Colorado-Big Thompson, Moffat Tunnel, Roberts Tunnel, Continental Hoosier System, Homestake Project, Twin Lakes Tunnel, and the Fry-Ark Project.  The major uses of the water resources of the Division, include irrigation, power, recreation, and municipal.  Our staff administer water rights for water users, measure water flow and maintain gaging stations, inspect dams to determine safe water storage levels, and maintain water records within these basins.  Water rights within the basin have yet to be curtailed to meet the provisions of Interstate Compacts, and thus unappropriated water remains available at certain times of the year in specific areas throughout the basin.   


Contact Division of Water Resources Division 5

REMINDER: This listing is a free service of ColoradoLandCAN.
Division of Water Resources Division 5 is not employed by or affiliated with the Colorado Land Conservation Assistance Network, and the Network does not certify or guarantee their services. The reader must perform their own due diligence and use their own judgment in the selection of any professional.


Contact Division of Water Resources Division 5

Lindsey Latham
Program Assistant
202 Center Drive
P.O. Box 396
Glenwood Springs, CO  81601
Phone: (970) 945-5665

Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Eagle County, Colorado
  • Garfield County, Colorado
  • Grand County, Colorado
  • Mesa County, Colorado
  • Pitkin County, Colorado
  • Routt County, Colorado
  • Summit County, Colorado