Colorado Division of Water Resources Division 1 Updated:05/2023

South Platte River Basin (Greeley)

Division 1 includes the South Platte River basin, Republican River basin, and Laramie River basin.  Staff administer water rights for water users, measure water flow and maintain gaging stations, ensure interstate compact and agreement compliance, inspect dams to determine safe water storage levels, and maintain water records within these basins.

The basins are overappropriated and its water users and their demands are diverse with many irrigation season water rights junior to late circa 1890’s being out of priority and curtailed.  With the growing demand by municipal and industrial water users,  recreational users, critical environmental needs, and maintaining the demand of the historic agricultural users while meeting the needs of the many other types of water users in the South Platte Basin, water administration is complex and ever changing with the mission of the Division of Water Resources to ensure maximization of a limited resource in accordance with the doctrine of prior appropriation.

Contact Colorado Division of Water Resources Division 1

REMINDER: This listing is a free service of ColoradoLandCAN.
Colorado Division of Water Resources Division 1 is not employed by or affiliated with the Colorado Land Conservation Assistance Network, and the Network does not certify or guarantee their services. The reader must perform their own due diligence and use their own judgment in the selection of any professional.


Contact Colorado Division of Water Resources Division 1

Liam Cummins
Water Resource Specialist
1809 56th Avenue
Suite 200
Greeley, CO  80634
Phone: (970) 352-8712

Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Adams County, Colorado
  • Arapahoe County, Colorado
  • Boulder County, Colorado
  • Cheyenne County, Colorado
  • Clear Creek County, Colorado
  • Denver County, Colorado
  • Douglas County, Colorado
  • Elbert County, Colorado
  • Gilpin County, Colorado
  • Jefferson County, Colorado
  • Kit Carson County, Colorado
  • Larimer County, Colorado
  • Lincoln County, Colorado
  • Logan County, Colorado
  • Morgan County, Colorado
  • Park County, Colorado
  • Phillips County, Colorado
  • Sedgwick County, Colorado
  • Teller County, Colorado
  • Washington County, Colorado
  • Weld County, Colorado
  • Yuma County, Colorado